To collect, protect and present the history of Ogden Dunes, Indiana

In 1987, the Town Board of Ogden Dunes appointed a resident to the just-forming Portage Historical Society. A four-person historian/archivist committee was created at the end of 1988. Finally in 1991, the Historical Society of Ogden Dunes, Indiana, was incorporated and opened to regular members. Several programs were held at the town firehall. In 1992, Sue Mechtersheimer leased the Hour Glass Cottage to the Historical Society for $1 a year to be used as a museum for local history and art. Sue donated the cottage to the Historical Society the next year.

Recently, the Indiana State Historical Society and the Porter County Community Foundation have recognized the significance of the work and mission of the Historical Society. In November 2017, the State Historical Society named the HSOD as “the outstanding local historical organization in the State of Indiana for 2017.” In 2016 the Porter County Community Foundation selected the Historical Society as one the not-for-profits in the county to participate in a matching 18-month endowment campaign. We successfully raised $26,500 by March 31, 2018. This has been matched by the PCCF, thus bringing the Society’s endowment to nearly $60,000.

Current Officers of Board

Members of the Board

  • Chadwick, Eunice, Emeritus
  • Clouser, Susan
  • Collins, Rick
  • Costanza, Aurelia
  • Englehart, Marie
  • Horvath, Werner
  • Hoham, Julia
  • Kurtz, Dorothy
  • Kurtz, Don, Emeritus
  • Meister, Dick
  • Moore, Dawn
  • Petrou, Judith
  • Shultz, Barbara
  • Stolarz, Erika
  • Tanis, Bert, Emeritus
  • Thompson, Ken
  • Wilhelm, John
  • Wirth, Jill

Past Presidents:

Become A Member

Lifetime Member

Endowment Fund Contributions: Unlimited

Have Any Questions?